question about coaxial monitor design

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

groover
gettin' sounds

question about coaxial monitor design

Post by groover » Wed Mar 19, 2014 4:57 pm

In looking at coaxial monitors with horn tweeters, such as the Presonus Scepter S8 and the Equator Q8 it looks to me like the horn would cause interference, for want of a better term, in the low frequencies with the sound waves bouncing off the back of the horn and also the horn blocking a lot of the area of the woofer.

Can someone explain to me the physics of why this isn't a problem?

Thanks!

jhharvest
steve albini likes it

Post by jhharvest » Wed Mar 19, 2014 5:46 pm

I'm not a speaker designer so I probably shouldn't answer but here's my gut instinct:
a) Low frequencies go through stuff like that flimsy plastic horn in the Presonus monitor, so it's practically not there. The horn is there to guide the high frequencies from the tweeter.
b) Every monitor is a compromise. What you might lose in some of "the sound waves bouncing off the back of the horn", you gain in time accuracy because of the coaxial design.

A pure guess but that's how I'd approach it. If you look at this way: a lot of speakers are rear-ported. That means the woofer is pushing out air at a very funny phase from the back of the speaker as well as the front. Still they work pretty okay in most rooms.

JWL
deaf.

Post by JWL » Wed Mar 19, 2014 8:01 pm

Low frequencies have really long wavelengths that will diffract around smaller objects in its path.

vxboogie
pushin' record

Post by vxboogie » Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:00 am

There's been a lot of talk and projects about building coax floor monitors on ProSoundWeb over the years and in many cases they have put some kind of material on the back of the hi-freq horn to absorb and limit some of the "noise" and comb filtering that happens when the lows reflect off of the back of the horn.