tell me your drum tuning methods/tricks

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

permanent hearing damage
re-cappin' neve

tell me your drum tuning methods/tricks

Post by permanent hearing damage » Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:59 am

considering i have been playing drums for nearly 20 years, i recognize i should be far better at tuning than i am. i mean, i'm okay, but when a pro tuned pearl export sounds better in my studio than my tama starclassic, artstar II or rogers kits, i feel like i gotta be doing something wrong.

i just have a helluva time hearing the pitches on the heads with overtones, etc. i even bought one of those fancy tune-bot tuners, hoping it would help me along, but i have only noticed a small improvement over tuning myself.

and are you guys tuning the heads in unison typically?

mwerden
suffering 'studio suck'

Post by mwerden » Mon Apr 21, 2014 12:11 pm

I've never been able to get drums to sound good with the heads tuned in unison. Usually I'm tuning up existing kits as opposed to putting heads on from scratch, I generally get the top head to feel good tension-wise before doing the bottom. If you go as loose as possible you can usually get a good thud "Uhhhh". If you do the top head a little tighter (or the bottom a little looser, depends on how you look at it) you can get toms to pitch down "byoooo".

Broad strokes info, hope it helps.
Instagram: @spaceacres
www.acres.space
www.mattwerden.com

The Scum
moves faders with mind

Post by The Scum » Mon Apr 21, 2014 12:19 pm

Assuming that you've got things close, but not great, try this:

Set the drum on top of the throne, so the seat muffles the bottom head. Take one fingertip and lightly touch the head, dead center. With a fingertip on the other hand, tap lightly near each tension rod.

It's like getting a harmonic on a guitar. Once you learn the touch, it's not hard...it's almost like you're plucking that area of the head.