Warm Audio WA76 in all analog home studio setup: any good?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

gio153
audio school

Warm Audio WA76 in all analog home studio setup: any good?

Post by gio153 » Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:28 pm

Hi! I'm new here!

Not sure if I'm at the right place, but I'm looking for opinions here: I am looking at a Warm Audio WA76 Limiting Amp / Compressor - is it any good in an analog setup? Reviews on the net are pretty convincing. I'm looking to beef up drums, but maybe guitar and bass will need it too.

PS I'm into the hot recorded, late 60's raw soul/funk sound and still learning in setting up a home studio. Any comments or tips would be greatly appreciated... :)

Bonus question, as I'm a total newbie: are there perks to record the compressed signal, or would it be better to use the compressor after its original signal has been recorded (provided there's an extra track available, or at mixdown?). Hope the question is clear :) Thanks for any info!

Erik

I'm Painting Again
zen recordist

Post by I'm Painting Again » Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:50 pm

I just checked it out..looks fantastic especially for the price compared with an 1176..but it's hard to tell without using it for sure :(

I have the Orban 418a that's a stereo limiter that is similar to this..like an 1178..but with a Mu control..the limiting on it is cool..the circuit has a softening effect on the high and mid frequencies that really makes the sound easy on the ears..quite remarkable

so maybe if you can find one you can be squishing on the cheap because I think when they appear they're not very expensive..

aye-aye-aye just went to ebay..looks like the days of "sleeper" gear for cheap are a distant memory..

anyway..

yea it'd be good in an analog setup, it's an analog piece that fits into the workflow perfectly

perks ?!?!

this depends who you ask.