Advice For Hopeful Analog Recording Geek

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

benisraelthompson
audio school

Advice For Hopeful Analog Recording Geek

Post by benisraelthompson » Wed Jan 21, 2015 5:05 pm

Hi All,

I am a full-time musician in Atlanta, and have been a big fan of records since I was a kid. I love collecting them, reading liner notes, etc. but have recently decided to make the jump into the actual recording process. My dream, (probably like everyone else here) is to make great records, and hopefully to tape. Everything from Beatles to the Ramones to Robert Plant and Alison Krauss, I love music that's got feeling, and I want to learn how to capture a musical moment. I?ve been going through a mini course on Pro Tools (John Keane?s Online Pro Tools DVDs). I?m loving it and the way it builds on each lesson makes the program make so much sense. I?ve realized that knowing Pro Tools and knowing audio are two mutually exclusive endeavors. I look up videos on audio, read articles from Tape Op, Sound on Sound, Mix Magazine, etc. but it seems like I?m trying to put a big puzzle together, with little pieces. I?d love to read or watch something that builds on itself, and is thorough, discussing compression, EQ, reverb, how to do it, etc. Does anyone have any recommendations for any books, or study materials? My goal is to eventually be able to track to tape and work on primarily analog gear.
Thanks!
Ben Israel Thompson
Goldwingband.com

I'm Painting Again
zen recordist

Post by I'm Painting Again » Wed Jan 21, 2015 6:47 pm

get a small home recording setup and record yourself as much as possible..

volunteer at a studio..assist a talented producer and or engineer if you're able to..

learn as much as you can about other people specifically artists and how they are comfortable and confident enough to make a special moment under a magnifying glass..

honkyjonk
dead but not forgotten