Greenhorn question - Tascam 388, no (VERY low) playback?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

drhook
audio school

Greenhorn question - Tascam 388, no (VERY low) playback?

Post by drhook » Fri Feb 06, 2015 3:09 pm

Hey guys,

I recently purchased a Tascam 388, a machine that i've been wanting to buy for a very long time. I bought from a friend, it was recently serviced and calibrated. It's my first time using tape, and I'm not a tech at all but for the past week I've been trying to troubleshoot this issue: I get a signal through the monitors, meters are bouncing, monitor knobs are up, but I cannot get a good signal on playback. I've followed the manual to a T (i think?); tape is threaded through properly, tracks are armed, channel is assigned, gain is cranked, monitor knobs are up, I can hear it through the monitors when i speak into the mic clear as day, and the meters are bouncing.

I CAN get playback from old tapes that came with the 388. There are a few pieces of songs on some and they playback fine. But when I try to record a signal, flip back to RMX and try to play it back, it's lower than -20dbVU and pretty unusable.

...help?

Thanks for taking a look at this. What's up Bobby Hussy!

kslight
mixes from purgatory

Post by kslight » Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:01 pm

I'd like to help you, a lot of times there can be problems like this caused by missing a step in the instructions?so I would kindly refer you to our huge Tascam 388 thread (which has stuff for getting started, maintenance?etc?great thing to bookmark and reference).

http://messageboard.tapeop.com/viewtopic.php?t=38598