graphic eq on mix bus?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
hollowidolrec
audio school
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 11:56 am

graphic eq on mix bus?

Post by hollowidolrec » Mon May 04, 2015 2:15 pm

anyone use a graphic eq instead of a parametric eq on mix bus? any model or brands in particular?

User avatar
A.David.MacKinnon
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3413
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 5:57 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Mon May 04, 2015 2:53 pm

I'd make sure I was really, really, really confident in the sound and accuracy of my mix room before I started EQing the 2 mix. Even then I'd rather leave the overall EQ for the mastering engineer and address EQ in the mix on track by track basis.

User avatar
Marc Alan Goodman
george martin
Posts: 1400
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 7:57 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by Marc Alan Goodman » Fri May 15, 2015 1:00 pm

I use eq on my mix bus all the time :) but our listening environment is pretty damn good and I'm extremely comfortable with it. No reason not to give it a shot!

high quality stereo graphic eqs are hard to come by. There's a thread all about graphic EQ and what it does well (and poorly, and differently) over on GS right now.

I use our Aengus EQs all over the place, but I don't think I've ever tried them on the mix bus. I might now though...

cgarges
zen recordist
Posts: 10865
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Charlotte, NC
Contact:

Post by cgarges » Thu May 28, 2015 10:13 pm

I've used my Sphere graphics on the mix buss a couple of times. It was kind of awesome when it was the right thing. Usually, if I'm doing any equalization on the mix buss, I'm using one of my Sontecs. Occasionally, I'll use an API 550A.

Chris Garges
Charlotte, NC

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests