Guys, I can't record bass...

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

OlScrapIron
studio intern

Guys, I can't record bass...

Post by OlScrapIron » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:29 am

Actually, I don't even know if I can't record bass (guitar) or if I just can't mix bass right. This is kinda embarrassing to admit considering I've been recording music for about 17 years but it is always my biggest struggle. It seems like it's always the same problems: Either there is a gnarly buildup in the low-end somewhere about 200hz or the bass is honky and too mid heavy. Also, I ALWAYS get that one damn note that sticks out. Everything is going along fine and then that note hits and FFFBBBBBBBB...
Basically, the bass will never "sit in" the mix, it's either too boomy or inaudible. My current setup is: Music Man SUB, Ashdown MAG head with a 4X10 cab and horn, mic'ed with the audix D6 (although I have tried the D112 and even an SM57) mixed with direct out from the head. I try just direct or just micing and the problem persists. I currently have the bass rolled all the way off the guitar otherwise it's just low end rumble. Any advise?

kslight
mixes from purgatory

Post by kslight » Sun Jun 28, 2015 12:06 pm

I've never been a huge fan of miking cabinets with a horn, is there a way to use the 4x10 without the crossover and such?

Also a bigger fan of the D112 on bass amp usually, the D6 is a really "eq-ed" sounding mic which I think works great for rock bass drum/floor tom but I'm not in love with it on amps. Not that D112 is really a "flat" mic either?but I think it works well in the context of a mix.