USB Hub

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
cstocker77
alignin' 24-trk
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 1:25 pm
Location: Detroit Michigan
Contact:

USB Hub

Post by cstocker77 » Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:45 pm

Who has one they like? I'm running a Macbook Pro, it only has 2 of it's own USB ports, I am in need of one more. Tell me what you like these days?

Thanks.

kslight
mixes from purgatory
Posts: 2759
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Post by kslight » Sun Nov 29, 2015 7:28 pm

If you're just gonna run junk like iloks off it, I have no complaints about my 5 port sponge bob.

cstocker77
alignin' 24-trk
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 1:25 pm
Location: Detroit Michigan
Contact:

Post by cstocker77 » Sun Nov 29, 2015 7:54 pm

hard drive
midi controller
iLok

my interface doesn't wanna behave nicely with my hard drive through firewire. It used to back in the PT 6.7 days, but now that I'm a bit more up to date (not by much) PT 10, but still using the Digi002, this is the route that seems to be working for me.

I just wanna get that Midi controller in there.

kslight
mixes from purgatory
Posts: 2759
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Post by kslight » Mon Nov 30, 2015 5:30 am

I think you should be fine with a passive hub then. I believe even though the MacBooks have 2 USB ports it's all on the same bus anyway, I don't think a midi controller is gonna push it over the edge. I'd probably keep the hard drive plugged direct into the computer for power though.


You don't have any thunderbolt or express card ports I guess?

User avatar
vvv
zen recordist
Posts: 9251
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 8:08 am
Location: Chi
Contact:

Post by vvv » Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:32 am

I run a a EasyAcc 4-hub and 5 hub on various computers. The 4 hub actually has a power-in you can plug from the wall, allegedly to provide more power for hard drives - I've not needed that option, me.
bandcamp; vlayman;
THD; Geronimo Cowboys;
blog.
I mix with olive juice.

cstocker77
alignin' 24-trk
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 1:25 pm
Location: Detroit Michigan
Contact:

Post by cstocker77 » Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:01 pm

I do have a Thunderbolt port. But I don't think any of things I want to plug in will hook up to that. My hard drives are Lacie, they have their own power supply. The MIDI controller powers off of the USB.

mn412
gimme a little kick & snare
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 1:53 pm

Post by mn412 » Tue Dec 01, 2015 9:19 pm

doing a record now on a rig thats not mine. Using a cheap staples hub for the keyboard (2 iloks) extra slot for thumb drive/backup at end of the night, and combo hdmi/usb because its an old monitor and only works that way. 2nd usb slot on the computer goes to main recording drive. been working well so far

User avatar
Jarvis
takin' a dinner break
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:38 am
Location: the new york

Post by Jarvis » Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:39 am

Ivan the Threadstopper

User avatar
syrupcore
deaf.
Posts: 1793
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 4:40 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Post by syrupcore » Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:09 am

I use a belkin 7 port powered hub. $30 or so at best buy/Amazon. No problems at all. Works with my iPad/iPhone too (with the USB adaptor)

cstocker77
alignin' 24-trk
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 1:25 pm
Location: Detroit Michigan
Contact:

Post by cstocker77 » Sun Jan 24, 2016 7:23 am

Thanks for your input!

User avatar
blungo2
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:08 pm
Location: so close to hell you can see sparks
Contact:

Post by blungo2 » Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:47 pm

Recently bought one of these that is working well, it goes well with a mac aesthetically if that matters to you.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B010KB ... ge_o00_s00

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests