GT MD1a Microphone Cable

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
User avatar
analogcabin
buyin' gear
Posts: 589
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 10:38 am
Location: Afton, Virginia
Contact:

GT MD1a Microphone Cable

Post by analogcabin » Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:44 am

Hi all,

I'm in need of a second cable for my Groove Tubes MD1a tube mic.
It terminates on D-Sub 9 slide lock connectors (which I've found), but it needs 6 conductor (plus a braided shield) cable. Any recommendations on a good flexible cable for this application? Ever fool with these microphones?


Many thanks!

User avatar
vvv
zen recordist
Posts: 9184
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 8:08 am
Location: Chi
Contact:

Re: GT MD1a Microphone Cable

Post by vvv » Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:54 am

bandcamp; vlayman;
THD; Geronimo Cowboys;
blog.
I mix with olive juice.

User avatar
losthighway
dead but not forgotten
Posts: 2129
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:02 pm
Contact:

Re: GT MD1a Microphone Cable

Post by losthighway » Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:51 pm

Nothing smart to offer, except that my soldering skills would make me sad if I had to wire up a new one. May the two that I have never break.

User avatar
leigh
carpal tunnel
Posts: 1636
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 11:16 am
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Re: GT MD1a Microphone Cable

Post by leigh » Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:38 am

A few years back I had Redco make me a replacement cable for a Groove Tubes mic (well, the Alesis AM40, which is the same thing), which needs a 6 pin cable. I got the extra cable to have a spare, but also because the included cable was so stiff it would never lay flat on the floor, and forget about wrapping it gracefully around a mic stand.

https://www.redco.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests