Isolation with a drop ceiling: fantasy or reality

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

IDQ
alignin' 24-trk

Isolation with a drop ceiling: fantasy or reality

Post by IDQ » Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:56 pm

Hey everyone - thanks in advance for taking interest.

I'm having a contractor finish half of my basement in an older home (1940ish with a later addition) to become my recording studio. I'm not a professional, and I mostly make music by myself or with a friend. I've never recorded in a situation any better than an average bedroom, and I haven't been unhappy with my results in general. All this to say: I'm not looking for a perfect solution. It just needs to be reasonable. It's the basement of a 2 story house, and I'd like to be able to play a modest-volume guitar amp late at night without waking the kids 2 floors above me. I posted recently at the Sayers forum (here, if you'd like to read more: http://johnlsayers.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=21383) and I have found the advice very educational but still not all that practically useful. At the risk of offending the very intelligent people who took time to answer my questions (and who may very well cross post to this forum), I feel that the general vibe over there leans towards "do your shit perfect or don't do it at all." And maybe they are right.