edit/work speed pro tools vs other platforms

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

permanent hearing damage
re-cappin' neve

edit/work speed pro tools vs other platforms

Post by permanent hearing damage » Mon Apr 02, 2018 10:36 am

i had a friend come in to assist tracking my own band a couple weeks back (i'm a drummer, so it can be tricky sometimes). i've been on steinberg platforms since i switched to digital many years ago and have been on cubase 6 for about 5-6 years now. i know some quick keys, but def could probably brush up and learn more. it has been fine for my workflow, but editing full band takes can get a bit messy sometimes, as can keeping multiple takes. partially for that reason (also thanks to my years of analog recording), i try to not keep too many extra takes of things, but sometimes this can't be helped or it seems to be wise for efficiency down the line.

my friend is more familiar with pro tools and had switched from a very old version of Nuendo many years ago. he insists pro tools is much easier and quicker, once you get used to it. i'm curious if i just need to learn some more quick keys or if i'm actually wasting some time utilizing my old DAW for editing and should just take the damn plunge on Pro Tools already?

anyone else switch recently and/or utilize multiple platforms? I have Reaper also, but don't track with it often as I'm just faster in Cubase.

kslight
mixes from purgatory

Re: edit/work speed pro tools vs other platforms

Post by kslight » Mon Apr 02, 2018 10:53 am

I’m way faster in PT. I haven’t touched Cubase in 13 years. I do use Ableton and Reason though.

Depends on what you need the DAW to do. I think Ableton is absolutely terrible for editing, I’m not even sure how I would actually edit real instruments with it tbh, especially multi-mic drums.

joninc
dead but not forgotten

Post by joninc » Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:02 am