*HELP* with judging tape head wear! (PICS)

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Jdonati17
audio school

*HELP* with judging tape head wear! (PICS)

Post by Jdonati17 » Thu May 03, 2018 8:42 am

Hey guys! I have the opportunity to buy my first tape deck, a MS-16 @ 15ips. I'm just a total noob to tape head wear and what I should be looking for. He's asking $300 for the deck, auto located and some new grandmaster 456 tape. The deck seems to be in good shape but I can't tell yet. Here's what he sent me! Thanks in advance for your safe advice :)
Attachments
IMG_6329.PNG
IMG_6329.PNG (116.37 KiB) Viewed 1272 times
IMG_6328.PNG
IMG_6328.PNG (116.62 KiB) Viewed 1272 times
IMG_6327.PNG
IMG_6327.PNG (112.16 KiB) Viewed 1272 times

Nick Sevilla
on a wing and a prayer

Re: *HELP* with judging tape head wear! (PICS)

Post by Nick Sevilla » Thu May 03, 2018 9:38 am

The only proper way to know how much a tape head is worn, is to send them to be tested to JRF Magnetics, and have them actually test them and analyze them the right way.

Many things can only be tested with specific equipment, which pretty much only those people have.

http://www.jrfmagnetics.com/

Other than this, all you can do is take it on faith that the heads work ok.

PS, the pictures as so tiny, there is not way to tell what is happening on even a basic level.

Good luck with this machine!!!
Howling at the neighbors. Hoping they have more mic cables.

kslight
mixes from purgatory

Post by kslight » Thu May 03, 2018 10:16 am

I can’t tell anything from these pictures.

When you say “first” tape machine, and ask these type of questions, that concerns me. I would respectfully back away right now if you don’t know what you are getting into...