Setting up Tascam 38 8-track with Tascam M30 mixing console

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

TheJuniperBerries
audio school

Setting up Tascam 38 8-track with Tascam M30 mixing console

Post by TheJuniperBerries » Fri May 11, 2018 11:36 pm

Hey guys! I'm relatively new to analog recording and I have a few questions about how to get the most ease of use/performance/sound quality out of my new Tascam 38.

It came with the M30 mixer, which I'm told is essentially the mixer designed to pair with this machine.

-My first question is which outputs to use going from the mixer to the 38. My first guess is to use the Direct Outs, but there are a lot of options here and I don't entirely understand what all of their purposes are.

-My second question is whether or not I can have the mixer set up to push signal onto the tape, as well as monitor back what has been recorded on the tape at the same time (my only analog recording practice thus far was on a 424, so I'm hoping to use this tape machine/mixer combo in the same way eg: record, listen, record, listen etc.)

-My third question is how you might recommend I back up my tape recordings digitally? I know there are several different heads in the 38 so I'm wondering if I could be recording onto the tape (rec. head) and then immediately play it back into my digital interface (playback head??) all in one go.

TLDR: I have this awesome new piece of gear that I'm really excited to start using but I'm in a little out of my depths :oops: :oops: :oops:

markjazzbassist
tinnitus

Re: Setting up Tascam 38 8-track with Tascam M30 mixing console

Post by markjazzbassist » Sat May 12, 2018 4:56 am

first off i highly recommend getting the manual for both machines and reading it a couple of times to understand how to use all the functions. both can be found at HifiEngine (google search) with a free membership (its all free). Or just google search them.