Patch Bay Question

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
scottedee
audio school
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 10:14 am

Patch Bay Question

Post by scottedee » Mon May 28, 2018 2:43 pm

Hey. I am introducing a digital interface into my set up and wondering if anybody has advice on the best way to accomplish the following; I would like to send the 8 channels from my board (can be set to +4 or -10) to my tape machine (unbalanced RCA ins) and Focusrite interface simultaneously. I was thinking I could half normalize the patchbay and send to both machines, but the fact that one machine is balanced and one is unbalanced seems problematic. Any ideas? Thanks.

User avatar
vvv
zen recordist
Posts: 8655
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 8:08 am
Location: Chi
Contact:

Re: Patch Bay Question

Post by vvv » Mon May 28, 2018 4:49 pm

I have found that almost every unbalanced piece of gear I have - alright, every such - accepts balanced signals w/out issue.

Try it like you say.
bandcamp; vlayman;
THD; Geronimo Cowboys;
blog.
I mix with olive juice.

User avatar
floid
buyin' a studio
Posts: 869
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 1:39 pm
Location: in exile

Re: Patch Bay Question

Post by floid » Mon May 28, 2018 5:06 pm

Village Idiot.

User avatar
A.David.MacKinnon
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3235
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 5:57 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Patch Bay Question

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Mon May 28, 2018 5:11 pm

If you’re running -10 tape and a +4 interface at the same time you’ll either have one signal too hot or one too cold ( or both). The best bet is to get both units running at +4. You can do that with a level shifter like this - https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail ... el-shifter

You can also sometimes find a used Phase 3 unit that does the same but cheaper. XLR to RCA and back again.

Beyond that, make sure everything has a common ground connection and cross your fingers.

User avatar
markjazzbassist
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 636
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:33 am
Location: Cleveland, OH

Re: Patch Bay Question

Post by markjazzbassist » Tue May 29, 2018 7:12 am

aphex 124. does 2 channels either +4 to -10 or -10 to +4. look up their specs, they are flat like 10hz to 40k. very nice units and cheap as hell used on ebay. you can get a pair for 50 bucks. that would be 4 channels, if you need 8 that's 100 bucks. the ebtech is nice but it's expensive.

User avatar
A.David.MacKinnon
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3235
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 5:57 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Patch Bay Question

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Tue May 29, 2018 8:16 am

markjazzbassist wrote:
Tue May 29, 2018 7:12 am
aphex 124. does 2 channels either +4 to -10 or -10 to +4. look up their specs, they are flat like 10hz to 40k. very nice units and cheap as hell used on ebay. you can get a pair for 50 bucks. that would be 4 channels, if you need 8 that's 100 bucks. the ebtech is nice but it's expensive.
Even better. I forgot about those.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests