Roland Space Echo Mode 4,5,6 Hum

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
boombipbass
audio school
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 6:54 am

Roland Space Echo Mode 4,5,6 Hum

Post by boombipbass » Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:40 am

Hi all,

I am new to this forum and hope someone could help me out :)
I have a RE 301 and when I set it to mode 4,5 or 6 it gets a low Hum,

I think it is a capacitator but how to find out which one?

Anyone has some tips on this one?

Thanks!

Larry

User avatar
emrr
buyin' a studio
Posts: 806
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 10:21 am
Location: NC
Contact:

Re: Roland Space Echo Mode 4,5,6 Hum

Post by emrr » Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:59 am

Cap hum is generally PSU related and would be a constant regardless of setting.

Two things to check first:

Those switch positions all making good contact? Does cleaning it help?

I'm not looking at a 301 layout right now, but possible that combo uses a head that isn't used in the other combos, and its shield has failed. Or that head is bad.
Doug Williams
ElectroMagnetic Radiation Recorders
Tape Op issue 73

User avatar
Darlington Pair
takin' a dinner break
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:27 pm
Location: Staunton, VA
Contact:

Re: Roland Space Echo Mode 4,5,6 Hum

Post by Darlington Pair » Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:12 am

Yep, cleaning the heck out of the rotary switch is what I would do, while you're there check the solder connections. I'm a fan of either Stabilant 22 or Dexoit D100l for treating that switch. The reason I think it must be related to the rotary switch is that 4, 5, and 6 are just combinations of heads from 1, 2, and 3 and people tend to use the combo settings less for some reason, unused open switches=dirty switches.

I give my space echoes a good internal cleaning at least once a year and have for 25 years, it's just part of owning a space echo... that and splicing tape.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests