Mac OS and Pro Tools

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
TapeOpLarry
TapeOp Admin
TapeOp Admin
Posts: 1601
Joined: Thu May 01, 2003 11:50 am
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Mac OS and Pro Tools

Post by TapeOpLarry » Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:14 pm

Am I on crack or is Pro Tools still not compatible with Mac OS Mojave? WTF is going on over there?
Larry Crane, Editor/Founder Tape Op Magazine
please visit www.tapeop.com for contact information
(do not send private messages via this board!)
www.larry-crane.com

kslight
resurrected
Posts: 2498
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: Mac OS and Pro Tools

Post by kslight » Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:15 pm

That’s what I’ve heard. But then I’m still on Sierra (and stuck there I believe unless I upgrade my video card in my old Mac Pro) so I’m not yet concerned.

Outside of those with brand new Macs, is Mojave widely adopted yet? I always subscribed to the idea of staying an OS version behind when possible. I assumed there’s a lot more folks in Pro audio hanging on to older systems than buying new ones.

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
speech impediment
Posts: 4759
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles California USA
Contact:

Re: Mac OS and Pro Tools

Post by Nick Sevilla » Thu Dec 27, 2018 8:52 pm

I also try to stay one to two versions behind on the OS.

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/artic ... lity-Chart
Realizing vibratory excursions from a paper widget.

drumsound
zen recordist
Posts: 6664
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 10:30 pm
Location: Bloomington IL
Contact:

Re: Mac OS and Pro Tools

Post by drumsound » Fri Dec 28, 2018 2:57 pm

Happily on PT10 and a few OS's behind.

User avatar
IanWalker
gimme a little kick & snare
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: Lansing, MI

Re: Mac OS and Pro Tools

Post by IanWalker » Mon Jan 07, 2019 1:37 pm

Audio guy by education and now hobby. IT support by profession. Professional opinion: ALWAYS stay back at least a version or so on production machines. Avoids a lot of headaches. Heck, I'm personally running ProTools 11 and OS 10.10, and I only updated because of an interface upgrade that didn't play nice with OS 10.8.

Avid doesn't seem to have updated to support Mojave yet. There aren't any killer features in Mojave and Apple is still updating and patching several major versions back, so if you're running ProTools 12 or 2018, you should be able to run it on one version or another of 10.13 anyhow.
--
Ian!
http://michigansoundservices.com/

Drivar dohaeris. Drivar morghulis. (All drives must serve. All drives must die. Basically, back up your data.)

bloodspoint
alignin' 24-trk
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:11 am
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Contact:

Re: Mac OS and Pro Tools

Post by bloodspoint » Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:57 pm

I'm using Pro Tools 2018.12 on Mojave, no problems, was using 2018.10 for about a month before that.
--
Bloodspoint Studio
http://www.bloodspoint.com/
"This is our concern, Dude..."

User avatar
DrPsyche2
audio school
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:09 am

Re: Mac OS and Pro Tools

Post by DrPsyche2 » Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:27 am

Hi,

I have macOS Mojave 10.14 And as far as I understood from the support reply, it's not supported with Pro Tools at this time.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests