Tascam 38

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

harrison28
audio school

Tascam 38

Post by harrison28 » Fri Jan 18, 2019 3:32 pm

Hi guys,

Hope this questions in the right place, I picked up a tascam 38 for a couple hundred quid and have managed to (after a few tweaks and a good clean) get it up and rolling, sounding good for the most part!

My issue is on channel 2,4,6 and 7 there's no signal coming off the repro head. got signal hitting the input, and the sync head fine on those channels as shown by the vu meters, but nada on the repro head. I've been doing some research into people that have had similar issues and i saw someone say to 'reseat' something on the repro head?

I'm new to the tape game so could anyone give us a heads up on what exactly wants 're-seating' to potentially fix the problem?

Thanks!

drumsound
zen recordist

Re: Tascam 38

Post by drumsound » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:43 pm

I'm not sure how the 38 is put together, but on larger machines there is an individual care for each track's input, sync and repro. Reseating is simply pulling the card and reinstalling it to make sure its making good contact. If the machine has not been used for a while, you could even take a pencil eraser and clean the contact area.

harrison28
audio school

Post by harrison28 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 1:07 am

Ta mate, what I was wondering is whre exactly the thing I am reseating is located in the machine.

A.David.MacKinnon
ears didn't survive the freeze

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Sat Jan 19, 2019 5:45 am

I had a 38 for years. Drumsound is right. Reseating the cards solves 90% of the issues where you have no sound and/or metering on certain channels in one mode but everything is fine in another.
You need to take the back off of the machine to get at the cards.

I'm Painting Again
zen recordist

Post by I'm Painting Again » Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:03 am

harrison28 wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 1:07 am