Orban 111b

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
standup
buyin' gear
Posts: 586
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: Baltimore
Contact:

Orban 111b

Post by standup » Mon Feb 04, 2019 6:14 pm

I've had this spring reverb for years, but it was just sitting around. Don't ask why, I don't have a good answer.

So I put it in the rack and wired it up, and sent some audio from PT. Audio is reaching the Orban 111b, I can see the "Limiting Threshold" light flickering in response to the signal. OK, great.

Now I run the output of the Orban back into an input on the audio interface, and when I play the track nothing is coming back from the Orban. Until I hit Stop. Then I hear an impulse, I hear that spring reverb.

So the reverb works. The signal path is complete. I think. But while the track is playing, I get nothing back from the reverb. Until I hit Stop, then I hear it.

Does this sound familiar to anyone?

User avatar
A.David.MacKinnon
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3182
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 5:57 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Orban 111b

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Mon Feb 04, 2019 7:24 pm

Are you in Pro Tools? Is your input monitoring set to input only or automatic?

User avatar
Recycled_Brains
deaf.
Posts: 1916
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:58 pm
Location: Albany, NY
Contact:

Re: Orban 111b

Post by Recycled_Brains » Tue Feb 05, 2019 10:19 am

check what Dave is saying, but also see if Low Latency Monitoring is off. If it isn't, try toggling that to off.

I don't know why, but sometimes having LLM on fucks up all my hardware inserts.
Ryan Slowey
Albany, NY

http://maggotbrainny.bandcamp.com

standup
buyin' gear
Posts: 586
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: Baltimore
Contact:

Re: Orban 111b

Post by standup » Tue Feb 05, 2019 2:57 pm

Well. That works. I hit the Pro Tools new green Input monitoring button and there it is.

Thanks, smart people.

standup
buyin' gear
Posts: 586
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: Baltimore
Contact:

Re: Orban 111b

Post by standup » Tue Feb 05, 2019 3:04 pm

I had "Low Latency Monitoring" off, when doing overdubs I just drop the HW buffer super low. But interestingly, the reverb does in fact disappear when I toggle Low Latency on.

I have gotten soft. Most of my inserts are software these days.

I'm glad to have the Orban back in circulation. Now I'm gonna over-use it.

User avatar
A.David.MacKinnon
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3182
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 5:57 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Orban 111b

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:13 pm

Gotta love a good spring reverb. I was working out of town this weekend and didn’t have access to my regular hardware or go to plug ins. Had to rough in some mixes at the end of the session and sended up using the in house Tapco stereo spring in place of my usual plate impulse response. Damn it sounded fantastic. So good in fact that I took an impulse response of it so I can use it for the rest of the mixes I do at home.

User avatar
vvv
zen recordist
Posts: 8565
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 8:08 am
Location: Chi
Contact:

Re: Orban 111b

Post by vvv » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:56 pm

standup wrote:
Tue Feb 05, 2019 3:04 pm
I'm glad to have the Orban back in circulation. Now I'm gonna over-use it.
:lol:
bandcamp; vlayman;
THD; Geronimo Cowboys;
blog.
I mix with olive juice.

User avatar
Recycled_Brains
deaf.
Posts: 1916
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:58 pm
Location: Albany, NY
Contact:

Re: Orban 111b

Post by Recycled_Brains » Wed Feb 06, 2019 7:51 am

standup wrote:
Tue Feb 05, 2019 2:57 pm
Well. That works. I hit the Pro Tools new green Input monitoring button and there it is.

Thanks, smart people.
So how are you routing it? Out one channel, in another? If you just create an aux and ad it as a hardware insert, then bus whatever to it, you shouldn't have to use the input mon switch.
Ryan Slowey
Albany, NY

http://maggotbrainny.bandcamp.com

User avatar
Recycled_Brains
deaf.
Posts: 1916
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:58 pm
Location: Albany, NY
Contact:

Re: Orban 111b

Post by Recycled_Brains » Wed Feb 06, 2019 7:51 am

standup wrote:
Tue Feb 05, 2019 2:57 pm
Well. That works. I hit the Pro Tools new green Input monitoring button and there it is.

Thanks, smart people.
So how are you routing it? Out one channel, in another? If you just create an aux and ad it as a hardware insert, then bus whatever to it, you shouldn't have to use the input mon switch.
Ryan Slowey
Albany, NY

http://maggotbrainny.bandcamp.com

standup
buyin' gear
Posts: 586
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: Baltimore
Contact:

Re: Orban 111b

Post by standup » Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:23 am

I spent this morning trying to get it set up on a hardware insert. Something is missing -- when I feel like spending MORE time on it I guess I'll do more reading on hardware inserts.

The time it worked I had it going out to the reverb on an output, and back in on a separate channel.

I'm having problems getting it to work again, but will spend more time on it when my frustration level goes down.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Recycled_Brains and 16 guests