Finally Acquired Tascam 388 and need Sage Advice!

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
Jdonati17
audio school
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 9:30 pm

Finally Acquired Tascam 388 and need Sage Advice!

Post by Jdonati17 » Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:14 pm

Hey guys,

I've recently acquired a really beautiful tascam 388 in the original box/pastic etc..I was very lucky to find it but I'm having issues and would LOVE any pro information. There are zero techs that work on these in Memphis.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Here's a rundown on whats going on:

Channels 1-4 will not record anything. I am able to pass and hear signal through every input and get VU's to move exactly as they should just no recording. CH.1-4 have no problem playing back old tapes either.

Channel 7 will not record through the XLR input but it will record through the send insert and line in insert. It also produces playback. Something's gotta be loose with the XLR right?

Channels 5,6,8, record and playback just fine.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

What I've done:

I've re seated every card and cleaned and checked them.

I also swapped the cards for CH. 5/7 and CH. 6/8 with CH. 1/3 and CH. 2/4 and still no change so I don't think its the cards right?

I've made sure that I'm recording properly also.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Could something be wrong with the record heads on 1-4? They look decent, no big scratches or rough marks and wear is even.

Thank you in advance!! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
speech impediment
Posts: 4810
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles California USA
Contact:

Re: Finally Acquired Tascam 388 and need Sage Advice!

Post by Nick Sevilla » Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:05 pm

Hi,

It seems as though the "Rec Function" buttons may be wanky / shot. Those are just to the left of the tape bay.

Do they all light up then pressed?

Since you changed the cards, and nothing changed, the issue is further along the signal path, AFTER
the cards. Look there, hopefully you have a service manual / schematics for this.

Is the "insert" button in the monitor section on or off?

Is the "DBX" on 1-4 on or off? How about on 5-8? This stuff is probably the culprit, since you mention channels 1-4 not recording.

As to channel 7, does it do this after you swap the cards? If so, it may just be a mechanical or solder issue at the connector. Does it record the LINE input? The inserts should be after both line and mic inputs. Since you can get signal through those, suspect the mic / line input amplifier or connectors.
Realizing vibratory excursions from a paper widget.

Jdonati17
audio school
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 9:30 pm

Re: Finally Acquired Tascam 388 and need Sage Advice!

Post by Jdonati17 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:49 am

Hey Nick!

All the recording functions buttons do light up and flash until I record then they stay solid as they should.

———————————————————————————————————-

The insert in the monitor section is definitely off. I’ve thought about that.

———————————————————————————————————-

The DBX is also off for channels 1-4 and 5-8. I’ve left it off.

———————————————————————————————————

As for channel 7, it does record the line input even after I swapped the cards.

Any other ideas as to what could be going on?


Thank you!

User avatar
markjazzbassist
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 626
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:33 am
Location: Cleveland, OH

Re: Finally Acquired Tascam 388 and need Sage Advice!

Post by markjazzbassist » Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:01 am

have you cleaned the heads and tape path? is the tape you are using brand new?

kslight
moves faders with mind
Posts: 2542
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: Finally Acquired Tascam 388 and need Sage Advice!

Post by kslight » Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:23 am

I wouldn’t expect the heads to cause issue with tracks 1-4 only, normally...I would take a hard look at the routing/switches though. Example, what happens if you plug into channel 1 and route the signal to record on 5. And what about plugging into channel 5 and routing to channel 1. Etc.

I’m surprised there wouldn’t be a tech somewhat nearby you. I have a good tech in Kansas City if you’re up for a road trip, but he’s not cheap (not that cheap techs have ever existed).

Jdonati17
audio school
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 9:30 pm

Re: Finally Acquired Tascam 388 and need Sage Advice!

Post by Jdonati17 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 4:27 pm

MarkJazzBassist - I have cleaned the tape heads, path and area very well. I also just got a new reel of tape from Nashville Recording Supply. ATR Magnetics.

--------------------------------------------------------

Nick, I'm going to check and see about recording Ch. 5 by routing the Ch.1 Signal and so forth. I'll let you know tonight!

--------------------------------------------------------

Jdonati17
audio school
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 9:30 pm

Re: Finally Acquired Tascam 388 and need Sage Advice!

Post by Jdonati17 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:21 pm

So I tested it and here are the results...

When patched into Ch 1 and routing in the assign section to ch 5 it records to channel 5. When patched into Ch 5 and assigned to channel 1...nothing. It only records on channel 5.

I really don’t lknow what it could be. Any suggestions?

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
speech impediment
Posts: 4810
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles California USA
Contact:

Re: Finally Acquired Tascam 388 and need Sage Advice!

Post by Nick Sevilla » Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:08 pm

Jdonati17 wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:21 pm
So I tested it and here are the results...

When patched into Ch 1 and routing in the assign section to ch 5 it records to channel 5. When patched into Ch 5 and assigned to channel 1...nothing. It only records on channel 5.

I really don’t lknow what it could be. Any suggestions?
The issue is after the channel cards. Without a schematic, impossible to say anything more useful.
Realizing vibratory excursions from a paper widget.

kslight
moves faders with mind
Posts: 2542
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: Finally Acquired Tascam 388 and need Sage Advice!

Post by kslight » Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:23 am

I’ve got a printed service book, might have a PDF somewhere. But I’m not home right now to look.

Jdonati17
audio school
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 9:30 pm

Re: Finally Acquired Tascam 388 and need Sage Advice!

Post by Jdonati17 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:33 pm

1st off, Thank you guys.

I do have the manual with the schematics. It came with it. My problem is that I'm not very savvy with electrical engineering. If y'all can point me in the right direction I'll do my best though. I just wanna get this bad boy recording on all 8 channels.


Thank you!

Mark
tinnitus
Posts: 1119
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 12:50 pm
Location: Leicester, Uk
Contact:

Re: Finally Acquired Tascam 388 and need Sage Advice!

Post by Mark » Sat Jun 08, 2019 2:20 am

Can I just be the first point out that the Access Send jacks are OUTPUTS and not inputs.

So if you're getting signal into the machine through one there's something very wrong.
WWRHS?

Mark
tinnitus
Posts: 1119
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 12:50 pm
Location: Leicester, Uk
Contact:

Re: Finally Acquired Tascam 388 and need Sage Advice!

Post by Mark » Sat Jun 08, 2019 2:22 am

Also, is @Sweetbeats a member here? If anyone can help you troubleshoot this machine it's him.

If he isn't try posting on the analog sub forum of www.homerecording.com
WWRHS?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests