PCI expansion chassis for RME interface?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
User avatar
DrummerMan
george martin
Posts: 1367
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

PCI expansion chassis for RME interface?

Post by DrummerMan » Wed May 06, 2020 3:52 pm

Hi All! My 2007 Mac Pro is really on it's last legs now. I have a new-ish MacBook Pro that totally smokes it in a number of ways, BUT my interface (RME Multiface II) connects to a PCI/PCIe card via Firewire Cable and my laptop obviously doesn't have that (It's thunderbolt only). Has anyone used an expansion chassis like this for PCIe card interfaces?
https://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/HELIOS3S/
Does it work? I would also use it for the video card for my 2 big monitors.

I ALSO have a UAD PCI card from the computer I used before this one. I can't seem to find whether or not PCI cards will fit and work in a PCIe slot, and obviously don't know if UAD would still function. It's not something I care about TOO much. I've lived without UA plugins for almost a decade and will continue to survive without them.

ANyone heere have experience with this?


PS/worth noting - I would love to just upgrade my interface, but unless I win the BURL songwriting contest I just don't think I can afford a decent 8x8 interface right now.
Geoff Mann
composer | drummer | Los Angeles, CA

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
speech impediment
Posts: 4964
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Lake Arrowhead California USA
Contact:

Re: PCI expansion chassis for RME interface?

Post by Nick Sevilla » Wed May 06, 2020 4:45 pm

I would contact RME directly, they are a great bunch of guys.

https://www.rme-audio.com/home.html

As to PCI to PCIe, nope, it will not work.

It is a completely different hardware architecture.

https://www.techwalla.com/articles/pci- ... patibility

As to that Thuderfart box, it says it:

"
PCIe Cards Supported

One PCIe 3.0 card that is up to half-length, full-height, and double-width
PCIe cards that utilize a PCIe 3.0 x4 interface. PCIe cards that require a minimum of 8 or more PCIe lanes are not supported.
GPUs not supported
If the card requires a driver it must be Thunderbolt-aware.
Cards that require more than 75W are not supported.
"

GPU (Graphic Processing Unit) cards NOT supported. SO, you need to look for a different brand.

I recommend these guys, they have compatibility with Avid HD / TDM since forever. And that is hard to do.
They make the famous Magma expansion chassis.

https://www.onestopsystems.com/magma-th ... -expansion

Contact them to find out which of their boxes can run what you own (outside the PCI UAD card).
Howling at the neighbors. Hoping they have more mic cables.

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
speech impediment
Posts: 4964
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Lake Arrowhead California USA
Contact:

Re: PCI expansion chassis for RME interface?

Post by Nick Sevilla » Wed May 06, 2020 4:59 pm

If / when you don upgrade, I recommend ethernet based audio interfaces.

I am using Focusrite RedNet2 with Dante. Amazing. And I still can use my old 2008 Mac Pro with it, and my new MacBook Pro 2019, together.
Howling at the neighbors. Hoping they have more mic cables.

User avatar
DrummerMan
george martin
Posts: 1367
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: PCI expansion chassis for RME interface?

Post by DrummerMan » Wed May 06, 2020 8:58 pm

Nick Sevilla wrote:
Wed May 06, 2020 4:45 pm
I would contact RME directly, they are a great bunch of guys.
That's a brilliant idea!

I'm on Logic not PT so dont need anything avid related...
Geoff Mann
composer | drummer | Los Angeles, CA

User avatar
DrummerMan
george martin
Posts: 1367
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: PCI expansion chassis for RME interface?

Post by DrummerMan » Wed May 06, 2020 8:59 pm

Nick Sevilla wrote:
Wed May 06, 2020 4:59 pm
If / when you don upgrade, I recommend ethernet based audio interfaces.

I am using Focusrite RedNet2 with Dante. Amazing. And I still can use my old 2008 Mac Pro with it, and my new MacBook Pro 2019, together.
How do you go ethernet into your macbook pro? Mine only has thunderbolt ports.
Geoff Mann
composer | drummer | Los Angeles, CA

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
speech impediment
Posts: 4964
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Lake Arrowhead California USA
Contact:

Re: PCI expansion chassis for RME interface?

Post by Nick Sevilla » Wed May 06, 2020 11:44 pm

DrummerMan wrote:
Wed May 06, 2020 8:59 pm
Nick Sevilla wrote:
Wed May 06, 2020 4:59 pm
If / when you don upgrade, I recommend ethernet based audio interfaces.

I am using Focusrite RedNet2 with Dante. Amazing. And I still can use my old 2008 Mac Pro with it, and my new MacBook Pro 2019, together.
How do you go ethernet into your macbook pro? Mine only has thunderbolt ports.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00X4 ... UTF8&psc=1

From there, to a NetGear GS116e 16 port ethernet switch, to everyone else in my microcosm. Approved for use by Audinate, who makes the Dante codec and drivers and licenses it to various makers of audio stuff. It is becoming more and more ubiquitous. I get 4mS latency roundtrip on the laptop.

Once I get a new Mac Pro tower, I can install their PCIe card, and get less than 1mS latency throughput. Better or equal than Avid's HD cards. Many manufacturers are jumping onto this really great format. They just came out with a Neve 1073 8 channel mic preamp, which has a Dante option card. Crazy.
Howling at the neighbors. Hoping they have more mic cables.

User avatar
DrummerMan
george martin
Posts: 1367
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: PCI expansion chassis for RME interface?

Post by DrummerMan » Mon May 11, 2020 1:02 pm

Just following up here in case anyone is curious down the road. I emailed RME today and they got right back to me saying that they've used expansion chassis like that with no additional latency so it looks like I'm good to go!
Geoff Mann
composer | drummer | Los Angeles, CA

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
speech impediment
Posts: 4964
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Lake Arrowhead California USA
Contact:

Re: PCI expansion chassis for RME interface?

Post by Nick Sevilla » Tue May 12, 2020 9:11 am

DrummerMan wrote:
Mon May 11, 2020 1:02 pm
Just following up here in case anyone is curious down the road. I emailed RME today and they got right back to me saying that they've used expansion chassis like that with no additional latency so it looks like I'm good to go!
Good to hear. Let us know how it goes.
Howling at the neighbors. Hoping they have more mic cables.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests