Studiomaster Mixdown 16-8-16

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
Charly1
audio school
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 6:28 pm

Studiomaster Mixdown 16-8-16

Post by Charly1 » Fri Jul 31, 2020 9:29 am

New to the group and looking forward to the service.
I was given a Studiomaster 16-8-16 which has seen work in a recording studio. 6 of the strips work, the balance do not. All the strips are getting power. I managed to find a schematic thanks to this group, but was wondering if anyone else has worked on these and has any suggestions. I thought I would give it a shot before taking it to the landfill.... ;-(
The strips not working all seem dead, nothing is coming through even though the solo switches etc all work and the led's light up.
Thanks in advance for any advice.
Cheers

User avatar
A.David.MacKinnon
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3398
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 5:57 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Studiomaster Mixdown 16-8-16

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Fri Jul 31, 2020 9:38 am

It could be dirty insert jacks. Try a blast of deoxit and plug and unplugging a few times.
Or a trs jack with the tip and ring connected.

Charly1
audio school
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 6:28 pm

Re: Studiomaster Mixdown 16-8-16

Post by Charly1 » Fri Jul 31, 2020 9:45 am

Thanks Dave. None of the inputs will work, mic, line or tape. I will give your suggestion a try though!

User avatar
A.David.MacKinnon
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3398
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 5:57 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Studiomaster Mixdown 16-8-16

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Fri Jul 31, 2020 11:14 am

Those inputs all rout through the insert (usually). So it's entirely possible that you've got signal that isn't making it past that point.
Who knows? It's an easy thing to check though. No soldering involved.

Charly1
audio school
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 6:28 pm

Re: Studiomaster Mixdown 16-8-16

Post by Charly1 » Fri Jul 31, 2020 11:38 am

Thanks for the suggestions. How would one check the insert that these route through?

Charly1
audio school
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 6:28 pm

Re: Studiomaster Mixdown 16-8-16

Post by Charly1 » Fri Jul 31, 2020 1:03 pm

David, thanks for the inspiration. I played around with it some more and have managed to get all but two rails working. It seems to be related to the EQ Cut switch. Wiggling those around got most of them working. Time to get cleaning or replacing if possible! Saves a trip to the dumpster and thanks again!!!

User avatar
A.David.MacKinnon
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3398
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 5:57 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Studiomaster Mixdown 16-8-16

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Fri Jul 31, 2020 2:19 pm

Excellent! Exercising the switches (turning them on and off and on and off and on and off) will something clean them out. Otherwise open it up and blast it with deoxit.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 69 guests