Recapping Studer 962 Power Supply

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
mwerden
steve albini likes it
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:39 pm

Recapping Studer 962 Power Supply

Post by mwerden » Thu Oct 08, 2020 5:30 pm

Fun times. There are these old german caps that have 4 pins, as far as I can tell I can't get new ones so I'm wondering what I should replace them with. They are leaking and very obviously need to be replaced. The manual shows that the center pin is +, but there are no + or - markings on the cap itself. It's 2200uf/16V. Other writing on the cap says: ROE, DIN-41253, EGD, Germany, (T). Attached schemo and physical layout, had to make things small so they'd upload. C24-27, C30-31.

WHAT SAY YOU GOOD TAPEOP PANDEMIC PEOPLE?
Attachments
Studer 962 Power Supply Schematic caps.png
Studer 962 Power Supply Schematic caps.png (168.72 KiB) Viewed 213 times
IMG_8609.JPG
IMG_8609.JPG (24.97 KiB) Viewed 213 times
IMG_8608.JPG
IMG_8608.JPG (24.91 KiB) Viewed 213 times
Instagram: @spaceacres
www.acres.space
www.mattwerden.com

mwerden
steve albini likes it
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:39 pm

Re: Recapping Studer 962 Power Supply

Post by mwerden » Thu Oct 08, 2020 5:32 pm

And the physical layout where you can see the + mark:
Attachments
Studer 962 power supply physical layout caps tiny.jpg
Studer 962 power supply physical layout caps tiny.jpg (103.88 KiB) Viewed 212 times
Instagram: @spaceacres
www.acres.space
www.mattwerden.com

User avatar
Scodiddly
cryogenically thawing
Posts: 3517
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 6:38 am
Location: Mundelein, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Recapping Studer 962 Power Supply

Post by Scodiddly » Thu Oct 08, 2020 6:02 pm

Looks like the three outer pins are all just part of the shell, so any/all of them can be your negative. Should be an easy swap, find ones with the same capacitance/voltage (you can always use higher voltage if that's what's available). The new ones will be much smaller than the originals, and if you want to dabble in possibly toxic chemicals you could remove the old capacitor guts from the shell and put that over the new replacement.

mwerden
steve albini likes it
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:39 pm

Re: Recapping Studer 962 Power Supply

Post by mwerden » Thu Oct 08, 2020 6:09 pm

I was so hoping that was the answer. So I can just add some spare legs to the existing negative pin so it goes to all three negative solder points? And I won't even explode anything?
Instagram: @spaceacres
www.acres.space
www.mattwerden.com

User avatar
Scodiddly
cryogenically thawing
Posts: 3517
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 6:38 am
Location: Mundelein, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Recapping Studer 962 Power Supply

Post by Scodiddly » Thu Oct 08, 2020 7:30 pm

It seems like all the caps really only have one of those three pins connecting to anything, though I'm a little confused by C25 because it doesn't seem to connect any of them! Maybe it's a double-sided board, though.

Yes, you can just use jumpers to connect the extra holes together to the new cap negative lead.

mwerden
steve albini likes it
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:39 pm

Re: Recapping Studer 962 Power Supply

Post by mwerden » Thu Oct 08, 2020 7:51 pm

Yeah, it's double sided. Don't have it in front of me right now, but I think some negative holes don't connect to anything and all of the positive ones do. Easy enough to figure out from here, thanks for setting me straight.
Instagram: @spaceacres
www.acres.space
www.mattwerden.com

mwerden
steve albini likes it
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:39 pm

Re: Recapping Studer 962 Power Supply

Post by mwerden » Thu Oct 08, 2020 9:38 pm

Took another look and it seems like there are a good number of those negative holes just floating in dark green nothing space. Some caps only have one negative lead connected to a trace. Others have 2, but they seem to be on the same trace. None have 3 connected to a trace.

When there's only one negative on a trace can I just ignore the other holes? When there's two on the same trace can I ignore one of them? Would be totally sweet to not have to jumper anything...
Instagram: @spaceacres
www.acres.space
www.mattwerden.com

User avatar
Scodiddly
cryogenically thawing
Posts: 3517
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 6:38 am
Location: Mundelein, IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Recapping Studer 962 Power Supply

Post by Scodiddly » Fri Oct 09, 2020 5:12 am

Yes to both questions.

mwerden
steve albini likes it
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:39 pm

Re: Recapping Studer 962 Power Supply

Post by mwerden » Fri Oct 09, 2020 10:01 am

Much obliged!
Instagram: @spaceacres
www.acres.space
www.mattwerden.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 76 guests