Recording solo violin

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

jmann
alignin' 24-trk

Recording solo violin

Post by jmann » Tue Aug 24, 2021 12:02 pm

My day job is sound for video production, and I just got a job shooting a solo violin performance in old church. (I have not seen the space, but I'm told it's large.)

I haven't actually recorded anyone playing a violin before, so I'm curious if anyone has any general advice for me (mic choice/placement, etc.) My initial inclination is to place one of my lavalier mics on the violin itself, hiding the cable from the camera, and place a different mic on a stand about 3-5 feet away. My regular kit mic for location work is a supercardioid Sanken CS-M1, which I love, but I also have some other options, like LDCs and even a Tape Op ribbon.

I could also bring my Hamptone JFET with me, or possibly another preamp, if that doesn't seem like overkill.

The final wrinkle is that I haven't heard yet from the producer whether we can have a visible mic in the shot. If the answer is no that makes for a lot fewer mic placement options...

digitaldrummer
ghost haunting audio students

Re: Recording solo violin

Post by digitaldrummer » Tue Aug 24, 2021 12:20 pm

was just reading the Al Schmitt "On the Record" book and he said he would use a U67 in omni mode, 10 feet in the air above the violins. If the room sounds good, then an omni mic might be a really nice choice.

I recorded a flautist once and just put an AKG 414b-uls about 2-3 feet above her head and it turned out great (I thought).
Last edited by digitaldrummer on Tue Aug 24, 2021 2:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mike
www.studiodrumtracks.com -- Drum tracks starting at $50!
www.doubledogrecording.com

jmann
alignin' 24-trk

Post by jmann » Tue Aug 24, 2021 1:10 pm

Cool! Thanks. I have a CAD e300, which I tend to like a lot and has an omni mode. Maybe I'll try that!

drumsound
zen recordist