Burl B32 Vancouver vs RND 5057

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

trodden
on a wing and a prayer

Burl B32 Vancouver vs RND 5057

Post by trodden » Mon Jun 27, 2022 7:35 pm

Having to plunk down close to another 2k in repairs for my AMEK BCII, gets me thinking that I should either:
A. Just figure out how to make my "in the box" mixes sound as good as my hybrid workflow that I've been doing for the last 17 years. I'm on protools 9, and I'm sure it's capable of quality results. Just keep the AMEK around for combining mics in two, or more, mic applications as well as a control/monitor center.

or

B. Sell the AMEK to some other sucker (if that's even possible), take a loss money-wise, and invest in an over-priced summing box that offers some "mojo" options like the B32 or 5057. This option sounds more "fun". This also means I'd have to buy a control room piece to sort out my monitoring options and talkback.

I still use a handful of outboard gear on my mixes. External compressors and EQ on stems or busses from protools, along with a Space Echo, some spring reverb, some distortion boxes, etc. I like interfacing with outboard.

Surprisingly, there's very little comparison out there between these two units. They both offer options for tone enhancement. The Neve unit has half the amount of channels, but it's cheaper and multiple units can be chained together. And honestly, I can get away with 16 channels anyways.

I've got a pair of Burl B1d preamps which are fucking awesome. They sound amazing the the build quality is also superb.

Anyone have any experience with both, or even just one?

Thanks.

digitaldrummer
cryogenically thawing

Re: Burl B32 Vancouver vs RND 5057

Post by digitaldrummer » Tue Jun 28, 2022 7:19 am