Considering going back in time with an old MOTU interface

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Artifacts
audio school

Considering going back in time with an old MOTU interface

Post by Artifacts » Mon Jul 03, 2023 7:25 am

Hi,

I am a musician who records himself and sometimes bandmates. I don't operate my small home studio professionally. That said, it's treated with rockwool panels, and I believe I get some good sounds.

My current setup is an Audient ID22 and the Audient ASP 800 8 pre ADAT which I bought second hand about 4 years ago. The ASP 800 worked great for a while for micing up my drums and allowing enough inputs (10) to do that and record with a bandmate so that we could have some semblance of a live performance.

But during the past year and a half, the first channel of the ASP 800 has begun producing bursts of noise/digital glitches. You can actually see this on the clip indicator led on the hardware unit. I got around this by just not using that first channel (which is kind of a bummer because it is one of the transformer color channels featured on the unit). That worked for a while, but now it seems to be affecting other channels randomly as well. You cross you fingers that you are going to get a take with the drums that doesn't have a flaw generated by this noise.

This is frustrating enough that I am considering ditching Audient and going back in time. I looked at some old reviews of multiple ins/outs interfaces and happened onto the old MOTU 828 mkii, and because it's a firewire device, the price has dropped considerably. I have read that with double dongles this will work on my MacBook Pro Air.