In-ear Monitors (IEMs)

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

digitaldrummer
cryogenically thawing

In-ear Monitors (IEMs)

Post by digitaldrummer » Sun Oct 01, 2023 2:48 pm

This may be a bit off topic since not really recording (although I've been tempted to use them when tracking). I've had a pair of Shure SE215's but haven't used them much. The little foam tips kinda suck and never liked the sound as a result. Finally figured out you can order triple-flange silicone tips so I did. Should get those later this week but I know that those tend to fit my ears better (because ear plugs I have use them). Also ordered a Behringer PM1 personal monitor amp. It's cheap and wired, but I'm a drummer so I'm not going anywhere. Played a show last night where everyone else used IEMs so I figured I gotta get my rig in order (the rest of the band was using Xvive wireless packs).

I may also get a pair of the KZ in-ears from Amazon (I have some, but they have a built in mic and don't need that). some of them get pretty good reviews and I figure < $25 is worth comparing to the Shure. But it's always challenging finding something that the drums and bass sound OK.

What is everyone else using (if you are using IEMs)? I probably won't be doing this enough to spend big $$ on Westone's or other custom-fits (even though I know that's the best way to go). I'll be driving the Honda in this Cadillac parade.
Last edited by digitaldrummer on Mon Oct 02, 2023 7:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mike
www.studiodrumtracks.com -- Drum tracks starting at $50!
www.doubledogrecording.com

Scodiddly
genitals didn't survive the freeze

Re: In-ear Monitors (IEMs)

Post by Scodiddly » Sun Oct 01, 2023 4:29 pm

I think a lot of professionals just use their live IEMs in the studio also, like why wouldn't you use very high quality custom-fitted devices?