Vintage Mics

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
YukonBG
audio school

Vintage Mics

Post by YukonBG » Sat Jun 14, 2003 7:43 pm

Hey, I'm just a beginner to the world of recording, so this is a really basic question. I currently am recording on a fostex 280 4-track and have become interested in old mics (like really old, say 40's/50's blues old). Now is it the mic or the recording device (ie. 4-track) that creates the sound of an old recording? Or is it a combination of the two? I've been looking to buy an old mic to get a dirty sound (to record acoustic guitar), so does anyone have any suggestions as to the best ones to check out? Thanks very much for any input.

soundguy
ghost haunting audio students

Re: Vintage Mics

Post by soundguy » Sat Jun 14, 2003 8:47 pm

its the entire signal path.

certainly any part of the signal path you emulate will get you one step closer, but if you take an old RCA ribbon and plug it into something lie a focusrite preamp, you are going to have a much more modern sound than the likes of howlin' wolf ever recorded with.

dave

ralph ed
audio school graduate

Post by ralph ed » Sun Jun 15, 2003 8:18 am

some of the older e/v mic.s have a distinct "old" sound, and aren't to expensive. i've got an e/v 911 high impedence crystal (?), that we've used
on mandolin and vocal. it is very high output, easily distorts, and has a defined, but musical eq.
several of the big chrome e/v's with large diaphragms, have a warm midrange that evokes early 60's country vocals.

try it, you'll like it!

MisterMark
gettin' sounds

Post by MisterMark » Mon Jun 16, 2003 11:37 am

yukon,

check out this site:

http://placidaudio.com

this might be something that puts you in the ball park of what you are looking for.

mark

tiger vomitt
dead but not forgotten

Post by tiger vomitt » Mon Jun 16, 2003 9:00 pm