Audio Schools?

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
texlop
pushin' record

Audio Schools?

Post by texlop » Sat Mar 27, 2004 7:40 pm

I'm studying engineering and am wondering what upper division school would be good. I'm thinking of attending San Francisco California State University in a year or two. I know the best school is in L.A. but I don't want to go down there. I'd much rather stay in the California Bay Area. Help me anyone that has gone or knows of good schools in California.

I'd like to know enough to where I can go from being a Music Sound Engineer to recording Disney Movies and putting the sound on them. I want to be able to work on the next Toy Story 3 or something
For some good new music check out The Medusas

listen to some of their Mp3's at Pure Volume

alignin' 24-trk

Re: Audio Schools?

Post by 01100011 » Sat Mar 27, 2004 8:37 pm

[working for pixar would be awesome]....my school has audio/video post production classes, but nothing anywhere close to california....:-\

jca83
carpal tunnel

Post by jca83 » Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:06 am

the first thing that came to my mind was Mills College in Oakland.

It's more of a music college than a recording college... and it's more of an experimental music college at that. John Cage taught there, Deep Listening was devised there, and a lot of the foremost artists and experimental musicians in the world teach/go there.

I think USC has some sort of recording program... I'm not certain though. I'm in the midwest! woo!
that devil bastard protools

record-olotta
pluggin' in mics

Post by record-olotta » Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:59 pm

go to full sail. they'll take your dreams... seriously.

Professor
ghost haunting audio students

Post by Professor » Wed Mar 31, 2004 1:42 am

Visit www.aes.org and look at the 'education' page.