cheap powered monitors $350ish and down

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
lancebug
re-cappin' neve

cheap powered monitors $350ish and down

Post by lancebug » Wed Apr 14, 2004 3:42 pm

Before you blast me I already know the whole "if you spend a little more for the mackies" part. I have been making crappy music at home for 16 or 17 years and will continue to make music that will be mediocre at best. That said I would like to upgrade from my current $8 yardsale monitoring system to something that doesnt have a broken cd player built in. With a max out of around $350 I have most closely been considering the behringer truths(the new ones). I have also been looking at the samson resolv 65a but have found little written about them positive or negative. Whatever I get I need it to be powered and since I will probably be able to afford a sub any time soon at least passable bass response is important. I do want my mixes to translate into the outside world, but more importantly I want to enjoy the process of recording more and and I dont want my fiance to call off the wedding because I spent all the honeymoon money. I would also be happy with links to other forums reviews links etc. Thanks all. -Lance-

Electricide
dead but not forgotten

Re: cheap powered monitors $350ish and down

Post by Electricide » Wed Apr 14, 2004 3:55 pm

Before Jef beats me to it, try the new Tapco line. I think the 5 inch are a bit lite on the bass, but are around $350. The 8 inch are probably more.

mjau
speech impediment

Post by mjau » Wed Apr 14, 2004 4:04 pm