scam?

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
tsw
steve albini likes it

scam?

Post by tsw » Tue Apr 27, 2004 11:53 am

I'm new to the online buying/selling game, so I hope you guys can shed some light.

This is a weird one. I?m trying to sell a Focusrite Voicemaster Pro. This guy e-mailed me like two months ago and said he wanted to buy it ?for his client.? I told him the price. After that, he would mail me now and then to ask if I had gotten the check yet. I had not. So, yesterday, I finally get a check. The check is made out for $1000 over the asking price. It?s mailed from Germany. It?s a cashier?s check from a bank in Minnesota.

Does this strike anyone else as really odd?

andy

midiot
pushin' record

Re: scam?

Post by midiot » Tue Apr 27, 2004 11:55 am

Did you reply to him asking why it was for a grand over the asking price?
boom-ptch-boom

meblumen
steve albini likes it

Post by meblumen » Tue Apr 27, 2004 12:00 pm

Yeah first I would definitly try to get in touch with the guy and ask why its for $1000 more than what you were asking. If you get a response or even if you don't make sure you cash/deposit the check and have the money in your possession before you even think about shipping the unit out. Once you are 110% sure you have the money than go ahead and ship it to where ever the guy wants it sent. Usually though when I sell things online I avoid doing business with anyone outside the US just to avoid certain hassels and miscommunications.

penelec
steve albini likes it

Post by penelec » Tue Apr 27, 2004 12:18 pm

Did he ask you for a grand in change?

tsw
steve albini likes it

Post by tsw » Tue Apr 27, 2004 12:27 pm