newbie looking for pointers...

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
HoneyBear
audio school graduate

newbie looking for pointers...

Post by HoneyBear » Sun Jun 27, 2004 4:54 pm

I've been working as an assistant engineer for almost two years and am looking for anyway to grow my knowledge. What resources are out there to learn without doing? I have access to some nice gear and use it every chance I get but really want to have a larger knowledge base to draw from.

Also - I have some interested in building my own equipment for fun (at first). I have some knowledge electrical wiring but am looking for a book to really learn how different parts (transformer, resistor etc.) apply to audio.

Thanks for the help!

Mark Alan Miller
dead but not forgotten

Re: newbie looking for pointers...

Post by Mark Alan Miller » Sun Jun 27, 2004 5:02 pm

Learn without doing?
Read everything you can get your hands on. Every recording magazine (get the imports, too) and hit flea markets for back issues.
A lot of magazines have back issue articles on their websites.
Google is your friend, too.
he took a duck in the face at two and hundred fifty knots.

http://www.radio-valkyrie.com/ao/aoindex.htm - download the new record (free is an option!) or get it on CD.

Flight Feathers
re-cappin' neve

Post by Flight Feathers » Sun Jun 27, 2004 7:17 pm

go to page 356 or whatever of threads on this board an read every single one. seriously. there is a sick amount of knowledge being shared here. i can't tell you how much i've learned from reading this board, and of course the mag too. when i first found tapeop, i didn't even know what a ribbon mic was...

ayan
5D Studios <-- my OLD studio
Flight Feathers <-- my band

nlmd311
tinnitus

Post by nlmd311 » Sun Jun 27, 2004 7:48 pm

HoneyBear wrote:I have some knowledge electrical wiring but am looking for a book to really learn how different parts (transformer, resistor etc.) apply to audio.quote]