why are transformers so important?

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
robotb3n
audio school graduate

why are transformers so important?

Post by robotb3n » Fri May 09, 2003 2:18 pm

what is so magical about certain transformers when it comes to building kickass mic pres and amps etc.?

I'm a new electronics tech student and I'm interested in building stuff, but I'm curious about the theory behind what makes this component so special.

thanks!

NewYorkDave
re-cappin' neve

Re: why are transformers so important?

Post by NewYorkDave » Fri May 09, 2003 6:39 pm

There are advantages and disadvantages to the use of audio transformers. Some are incontrovertible, others are open to debate or at least to further empirical proof or disproof.

Audio transformers provide galvanic isolation and an easy means (within limits) of voltage and impedance transformation. They have good common-mode and RF rejection. On the downside, they have a low-frequency response limit (depending on core size, winding inductance and other factors) and they all introduce some degree of phase shift and/or other anomalies. Sometimes, these anomalies produce a euphonic result, and we say the transformer sounds "good."

Transformers are susceptible to electromagnetic hum pickup, but most quality types intended for low-level signals are well-shielded enough to minimize this potential problem. Quality low-level types also incorporate an electrostatic shield between the primary and secondary windings to eliminate capacitive coupling of noise between the windings.