Throwing in the towel?

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
twitchmonitor
re-cappin' neve

Throwing in the towel?

Post by twitchmonitor » Tue Oct 26, 2004 3:06 pm

I'm seriously considering "giving up" on the "music thing." I graduated from NYU with a philosophy degree and I work at a dead end job 40 hours a week so that I can spend the occasional night or weekend recording....when I get the work. Despite some decent experience, a year-long internship at a great studio, etc....I haven't been able to find a position at a local studio or develop enough of a clientel to pay rent and eat, let alone the other expenses (insurance, bills, etc). If I lived in a Disney world I would hear some uplifting, inspirational music and I would march on to the beat of my own drum, following my dream. But in real life, I'm starting to realize that given the changes in and current state of the recording/music industry there's not much of a bright future. Even if I have a degree of success at engineering, it means that I'll work long hard hours with difficult musicians for little pay and with no job security. And that's if I get lucky. If I'm not I'll be a 40 year old, overeducated administrative assistant.

So I'm applying to electrical engineering programs....inspired by building all the various gear over the years....royer tube mic, sherlock, seventh circle pres, etc. I may still be able to get some recording in, but it's a really intensive discipline, from what I hear, and I'm going to have to make some serious sacrifices.

28 ain't old, but I don't want another 10 years to slip by with nothing but heartache, disapointment and stories of what could have or should have been.

:cry:

stewie
audio school graduate

Re: Throwing in the towel?

Post by stewie » Tue Oct 26, 2004 3:22 pm