Mixing outside the box??

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
JustinHedrick
steve albini likes it
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Urbana, Illinois

Mixing outside the box??

Post by JustinHedrick » Tue Nov 02, 2004 9:10 pm

Hello,

I have read many people refrencing Mixing outsde the box. I have a layla 20 card, which has 8 outputs, and i'm running N-track. Can I "mix outiside the box"? What does that even mean?

OM15.2
suffering 'studio suck'
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 3:45 pm
Location: tripping security alarms

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by OM15.2 » Tue Nov 02, 2004 9:56 pm

it means running your 8 outputs into an analogue mixing board and doing your mixing (and maybe adding compression/effects) through the mixer and other outboard gear you have.

From there you can run direct from a tewo channel buss out to a dat or cd burner(or you maybe could run all 8 channels back into the computer if you wished)

So yeah if you have 8 outputs and a decent mixing board you think will impart a decent colour or feel or you love the eq or whatever than yes you probably can.

cheers

User avatar
I'm Painting Again
zen recordist
Posts: 7050
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 2:15 am
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by I'm Painting Again » Tue Nov 02, 2004 10:00 pm

means running your outputs to an analog mixer and or other analog outboard gear and doing a mix to something different like a cd-burner or 1/4"tapedeck..the reasons you would want to do this is the coloration from analog equipment, the effects and coloration of tape, the hands on functionality of the analog mixer and devices, and probably more i cant think of at the moment..if you have nice alalog gear to "mix out of the box" with its worth a try to hear if it does anything for you..

JustinHedrick
steve albini likes it
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Urbana, Illinois

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by JustinHedrick » Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:05 am

that sounds cool, i think i could accomodate that, but my soundcard only allows 2 outputs, Like i said, i have a Layla 20, can this still work?

User avatar
rob@SigmaDelta
gettin' sounds
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 2:05 pm
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Contact:

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by rob@SigmaDelta » Wed Nov 03, 2004 10:22 am

There's not much of a point then... the purpose is to have something seen as higher quality (or more character) than your digital device to sum the tracks or stem tracks.

I wouldnt bother in your situation.
Lovingly signed,
Robert Randolph @
http://www.audio-labs.net

meblumen
steve albini likes it
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 6:43 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by meblumen » Wed Nov 03, 2004 10:28 am

JustinHedrick wrote:that sounds cool, i think i could accomodate that, but my soundcard only allows 2 outputs, Like i said, i have a Layla 20, can this still work?

You just said in your first post that your card has 8 outputs?!? If you have the echo layla 20 bit card you should have 8 analog inputs, 2 more via s/pdif, 10 analog outputs and I'm pretty sure 2 more via s/pdif but don't hold me to that. Hence you could output 10 individual tracks or 10 subgroups or whatever, run it through whatever mixer you have and then either to another external source (tape machine, dat, cd burner etc...) or back into your computer as a 2 track, stereo mix. If I were you I would experiemnt, do one mix inside the box and then try it with your mixer and see which one sounds better.

User avatar
I'm Painting Again
zen recordist
Posts: 7050
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 2:15 am
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by I'm Painting Again » Wed Nov 03, 2004 11:03 am

rob@SigmaDelta wrote:There's not much of a point then... the purpose is to have something seen as higher quality (or more character) than your digital device to sum the tracks or stem tracks.

I wouldnt bother in your situation.
well generaly your probably right but i can see how just two outs with some analog gear could be desirable..a mix comp and a tape deck for example..

User avatar
antilog
george martin
Posts: 1359
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 4:34 pm

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by antilog » Wed Nov 03, 2004 11:09 am

rob@SigmaDelta wrote:There's not much of a point then... the purpose is to have something seen as higher quality (or more character) than your digital device to sum the tracks or stem tracks.

I wouldnt bother in your situation.
Here at TapeOp we bother, if it is within our means. This is how we learn. Experimenting, trying new things.

I think what he meant to say was:

It may not be worth it if it is going to cost you a lot resources.
-----------------

If it doesn't, then maybe you will learn somethings about mixers and signal routing, find that you love getting your hands on faders, etc. Maybe not....
"Artists to my mind are the real architects of change, and not the political legislators who implement change after the fact." William S Burroughs

User avatar
rob@SigmaDelta
gettin' sounds
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 2:05 pm
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Contact:

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by rob@SigmaDelta » Wed Nov 03, 2004 11:12 am

more or less yes, that's what I was going for. Im a bit direct sometimes :)
Lovingly signed,
Robert Randolph @
http://www.audio-labs.net

User avatar
I'm Painting Again
zen recordist
Posts: 7050
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 2:15 am
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by I'm Painting Again » Wed Nov 03, 2004 11:21 am

looks like the tapeop police gave you a warning..lol

User avatar
antilog
george martin
Posts: 1359
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 4:34 pm

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by antilog » Wed Nov 03, 2004 11:48 am

BEARD_OF_BEES wrote:looks like the tapeop police gave you a warning..lol
no no no... lol

just trying to keep the tapeop spirit alive.
"Artists to my mind are the real architects of change, and not the political legislators who implement change after the fact." William S Burroughs

JustinHedrick
steve albini likes it
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Urbana, Illinois

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by JustinHedrick » Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:34 pm

yes, i do have 8 outputs, however, the software will only allow me to assign to two outputs.....seems kind of pointless, no?

User avatar
rob@SigmaDelta
gettin' sounds
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 2:05 pm
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Contact:

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by rob@SigmaDelta » Wed Nov 03, 2004 1:01 pm

n-track will allow you to assign more than one output. check the manual or ask on the forum at www.n-track.com It's actually quite easy but I do not have the software at hand to talk you through it.

Good luck.
Lovingly signed,
Robert Randolph @
http://www.audio-labs.net

User avatar
I'm Painting Again
zen recordist
Posts: 7050
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 2:15 am
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by I'm Painting Again » Wed Nov 03, 2004 1:08 pm

erich wrote:
BEARD_OF_BEES wrote:looks like the tapeop police gave you a warning..lol
no no no... lol

just trying to keep the tapeop spirit alive.
i know..and i admire that pov

User avatar
rob@SigmaDelta
gettin' sounds
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 2:05 pm
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Contact:

Re: Mixing outside the box??

Post by rob@SigmaDelta » Wed Nov 03, 2004 1:13 pm

BEARD_OF_BEES wrote:
erich wrote:
BEARD_OF_BEES wrote:looks like the tapeop police gave you a warning..lol
no no no... lol

just trying to keep the tapeop spirit alive.
i know..and i admire that pov
I dont. asshole.






just kidding ;)
Lovingly signed,
Robert Randolph @
http://www.audio-labs.net

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests