Internship Questions

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
matt250321
pluggin' in mics

Internship Questions

Post by matt250321 » Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:57 pm

Hey everybody, Im relatively new to this board. I have been browsing through and reading for the last few months but this is probably only my second or so post. I had some questions about the internship process. I am a sophomore in a music recording technology program at Lebanon Valley College in Pennsylvania. It is part of the degree program to do a full internship either the summer before senior year or get all of your classes done early and do it during your last semester. I will most likely do it next summer. I was wondering if any studio owners/managers or people who have gone through similar internships had any advice. A few specific questions I had are:

Is it important (or at least a good idea) to find a studio in which you really want to work in after graduation? I can only imagine interning at one studio, doing all the cleaning and coffee making, gaining a good working relationship with them, receiving bigger and better tasks like assisting sessions, and then leaving, only to start that process over at another studio when Im looking for a paid job. What are your thoughts on this?