pedal steel suggestions

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
corinpills
ass engineer

pedal steel suggestions

Post by corinpills » Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:15 am

I'm getting ready to do some pedal steel overdubs on some acoustic pop (it sounds like Neil Finn covering Harvest by Neil Young). The guy I'm using is a great player, but he's coming from a country angle where the sound is very clean. I've already weeded any Flying Burrito Bros licks out of the arrangements, but I'd like the tone to be more reminiscent of George Harrison's slide parts ("All Things Must Pass" era). It's gonna be over really organic sounding, but minimalist, acoustic guitar, 3 mic'd drums in mono and Hofner bass with flatwounds. Any mic, amp suggestions?

schnozzle
buyin' gear

Re: pedal steel suggestions

Post by schnozzle » Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:37 am

Not that I'm an expert, but from what I've found the tones on a pedal steel, lap steel, and slide guitar are totally totally different. It's not just a matter of picking what notes to play, but that reedy 2-note harmony thing George does on "My Sweet Lord" will sound way more chimey on a pedal steel. It's a combination of the tunings involved and the physical construction of the instruments.

You could try distorting the tone a bit but it still won't sound the same (I believe the Misunderstood used a disorted pedal steel, for example, and it doesn't sound like a slide guitar).

Maybe someone has a different experience than me, but if you really want that particular sound you'd need a stratocaster with raised action, methinks.

Coco
re-cappin' neve

Post by Coco » Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:53 am