I'm a fullsail student, bare with me

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
snuffinthepunk
pushin' record

I'm a fullsail student, bare with me

Post by snuffinthepunk » Mon Dec 13, 2004 6:23 pm

I don't know what to ask as of yet but ah, i guess, i can ask a general question for the moment. what is the most important tip/trick you've learned through your experience with recording?

oh also, what console did the neve(s) 1073 mic pre come with? and what makes it so awesome? (in as dumbed down an explanation as you can give me...i haven't reached RMC yet)

Thanks kids
"no dream is worth being underachieved"
I love signal flow.

Imagine the possibilities!

www.primalgear.com

cgarges
zen recordist

Re: I'm a fullsail student, bare with me

Post by cgarges » Mon Dec 13, 2004 6:36 pm

snuffinthepunk wrote:what is the most important tip/trick you've learned through your experience with recording?
Don't tell people you went to Full Sail.

Just kidding...

But, no really...

Just kidding...

But no, REALLY...

ha ha!
snuffinthepunk wrote:oh also, what console did the neve(s) 1073 mic pre come with? and what makes it so awesome? (in as dumbed down an explanation as you can give me...i haven't reached RMC yet)
I believe the 1073 was avaiable in a number of the 80 Series consoles. What makes it "so awesome" is that it has decent headroom, but still distorts nicely when driven. This makes it sound "rock and roll," although that's probably got almost as much to do with the fact that we're all so used to hearing them by now. The EQ points are nice and musical and make sense. They also translate low-frequency material in a flattering manner to a certain extent, which makes them useful for drums and bass, and their midrange characteristics make them suitable for guitars and vocals as well.

It's a sound, just like any other.

The dbx 1066 is an RMC (Really Mediocre Compressor).

By the way, welcome to the board!

Chris Garges
Charlotte, NC