Recording Rock Bands Without a Bass Player

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
lukeduplex
audio school graduate

Recording Rock Bands Without a Bass Player

Post by lukeduplex » Sat Dec 18, 2004 6:32 pm

The rock band i am in right now has no bass player, just 2 guitars and drums. Therefore I have a question: What would be some cool/creative techniques to make up for this in the recording process? I am a budding recording engineer and have some ideas, but i'd like to hear what others have done. I'd also like to hear an argument or two against the "making up for it" approach. So what if there is no bass in the recording, right?

Thanks
Lucas

leigh
carpal tunnel

Re: Recording Rock Bands Without a Bass Player

Post by leigh » Sat Dec 18, 2004 7:33 pm

I would just look at it as, more room in the mix for kick and the low end of guitars. So in that way, it's not "making up for anything," by adding anything, there's just fewer things competing for that frequency range. Mixing (which is an art of compromise to begin with) becomes simpler.

The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion album "Orange" is a well-produced example of this. There's bass on some tracks, but on much of it, it's just Jon playing low chords/bass lines on his guitar. The other guitar player, Judah, typically takes a higher register for his parts, so the low end stays uncluttered. And then there's plenty of room for that kick!

Track 4 on Orange, an instrumental titled "very rare", illustrates this mix approach. There's a few overdubs of extra guitars, organ, and claps, but just in parts, to add a bit of flavor here and there. The basic "frequency structure" of the mix has the low end coming from one bassy guitar line and the kick.

Leigh

Moon Unit
gettin' sounds

Post by Moon Unit » Sat Dec 18, 2004 7:54 pm