science behind preamps

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
silent_nick
studio intern

science behind preamps

Post by silent_nick » Mon Dec 20, 2004 1:07 pm

Forgive me but I am a novice so I'm about to ask a stupid question:

What exactly do preamps do?

And which one would you recommend in the $1000 range? Here is my current setup:

P4 2.4
P4PE board
1 gig of ram
2 SATA hard drives
Nuendo 1.6
MOTU 24I/O interface
Mackie 1604 VLZ Pro
FMR RNC
a shitload of mics, including: Rode K2, Shure KSM44, D112, 421, Beta 57A, Beta 58A, a bunch of 57s, a 58, Oktava 319, 2 Oktava 012's

What type of pre would be good for me and WHY? I currently record desert indie country punk folk music...whatever the hell that means..

Thanks in advance...

By the way, I just discovered Tape Op a couple months ago with the Jay Bennett article and I fucking LOVE it.

Nick
Frequency Out of Range

chetatkinsdiet
buyin' a studio

Re: science behind preamps

Post by chetatkinsdiet » Mon Dec 20, 2004 1:19 pm

A microphone itself needs a bit of boost in the output to record properly. A mic preamp is really no different than a preamp on a guitar amp or home stereo system where it takes a low signal and boosts it up to the proper levels before amplifying it at the power amp stage.
Not really the science behind it, but that's basically it.