Cross-stick snare miking. HOW?

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
Ivon
steve albini likes it

Cross-stick snare miking. HOW?

Post by Ivon » Sat Jan 01, 2005 1:50 pm

I am new to miking drum kits and have run to into a roadblock of sorts. Aside from trying different mic brands, are there specific placement techniques any one knows of to really bring out the snare when cross-sticking? So far, I've just been miking the snare with a mic placed 2 inches from the snare head, three inches in from the rim, pointed at a 45 degree angle and I just can't seem to get the presence/volume I need relative to the rest of the kit when recording cross-sticking.

Thanks Much,
Ivon

joel hamilton
zen recordist

Re: Cross-stick snare miking. HOW?

Post by joel hamilton » Sat Jan 01, 2005 2:27 pm

Turn up the pre.
Seriously. Does the drummer go into a full blast snare hit at some point? SOmetimes on Dub/reggae type stuff I have compressed (limited) the snare if we had to go straight into PT, and I also had the soft clip function engaged, because the cross stick was SOOOOO much quieter than the giant flam accents. I just cranked the pre up and crossed my fingers, and threw a limiter in front of the conversion, because the transient is short enough to get the blast from the room mics even if the snare gets a little "dull" on the extreme smashes.

Aside from turing it up, you can do the smae thing during the mix, turn it up.

I find that a compressed room mic gets a lot of theside stick, as do the OH's if all is well.

Random thoughs because I have no idea what your specific situation is, really.

Hope it helps.

Slider
george martin

Post by Slider » Sat Jan 01, 2005 3:11 pm

In the past I have:

Put up another mic right where the stick hits the rim, then switched tracks around depending on what the drummer is hitting, the snare, or the rim.