Royer Mic's on Strings

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
Mzkguy
alignin' 24-trk

Royer Mic's on Strings

Post by Mzkguy » Mon Aug 11, 2003 2:05 pm

Anyone out there use the Royer 121's on string sections? I'm looking into a pair. I know they sound great on guitars etc, but I've never used 'em on a string section before. Any thoughts?
Mzkguy

Professor
ghost haunting audio students

Re: Royer Mic's on Strings

Post by Professor » Mon Aug 11, 2003 2:13 pm

Strings are suppose to be one those places where ribbons are magical, though I've not tried the Royers yet. I have been going round and round trying to decide between a pair of Royers, Coles or these guys from AEA http://www.wesdooley.com/R84zone.html with their 2" ribbon and 20-20k response.

-Jeremy

silversound
takin' a dinner break

Post by silversound » Mon Aug 11, 2003 2:21 pm

Don't have them myself, but I have tried em' (Royers) on nylon. WOW!
pssst! hey pssst! Want some free software man? I'll throw it in if you buy my hardware.

Katrina
studio intern

Post by Katrina » Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:36 pm

all i gotta say is buy a pair of AEA ribbons. they're worth it.

AnalogElectric
suffering 'studio suck'

Post by AnalogElectric » Tue Aug 12, 2003 4:25 am