What can we do to improve the music scene?

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
Scodiddly
genitals didn't survive the freeze

What can we do to improve the music scene?

Post by Scodiddly » Tue Feb 08, 2005 3:33 am

So with all these discussions about booking studios, artists recording on their own, etc... I'm faced with the somewhat uncomfortable question of what I personally am doing to improve the state of popular music.

And the answer, at the moment, is "very little". To some extent that's not really my fault - I'm an engineer first, a player second, and songwriting is somewhere below "jet engine maintentance" in my skill set. On the other hand, I'm plenty sick of the shitty music that I hear on the radio these days... try being positive about modern hit music when you're living in the same house as an 8-year-old girl who just bought the latest Kylie Minogue single (don't worry, I'll be OK - I leave in less than a week). So what can I do to improve the music around me?

One friend I met in the last year teaches at a local high school, and is very supportive of the student music scene as well as producing some of his own music. He puts together showcase concerts now and then, does some recording, etc. So I think I'll let him do some longer-term testing on some of my stuff (microphones, interesting old guitar amps). Who knows, maybe there will be an eventual opportunity to teach professionalism to some of those kids so they stand a better chance of producing the Next Big Thing.

I've been playing with a good songwriter on and off for a few years. I kind of doubt his stuff will really catch on, but who knows - he does some of his own recording and has gotten really good at the production side, with occasional help from a real studio for mixdowns and such. I need to keep that up, and maybe figure out a way for his skills to get wider use. I'm not that good at networking, though.