choosing an older analog board....

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
pk
buyin' gear

choosing an older analog board....

Post by pk » Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:28 pm

I've been mixing in the box for a few years and have been itching to go through a board for a change. Not only for the sound difference it may impart, but also to learn the technique and get my 'hands dirty'. I don't have any outboard yet, and do mostly electronic music, but I do mix rock and other projects in PT and enjoying the process, knowing I want to do more of this (production for others) in the future, alongside my own music.

I run a modest setup around a Digi002R + Powerbook. I'd also like the board to have decent pres for tracking guitar, bass and vox. I know that getting outboard pres would be much easier and perhaps even better sounding, and I do plan on getting some later on, but there's something to be said about having a board, at least once in your life.

I got to familiarize myself with a few names over the past couple of months, mostly by reading this board, doing searches, findiing out what people like or dislike about certain boards, etc.

Here are some of the ones I've been looking at, looking for any advice, do's and don'ts, reasons why one would be better than the other, etc. I realize there's the cleaning and maintenance factor to reckon, which I already considered, so we'll skip that part and focus on the sonics of board itself.

- Allen & Heath System 8

I've read much praise about these, though a common caveat was the cleaning process, as it's not modular. Good pres and eq's, inserts and direct outs, can be had pretty cheap in 16 or 24 input config. Of course, there's always the occasional negative "I hated that thing" review, which makes you wonder, oh well.

- Soundtracs