Patchbay Normalling Question

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
workshed
suffering 'studio suck'

Patchbay Normalling Question

Post by workshed » Tue Feb 15, 2005 9:35 am

In line with my other thread about having fried my Soundcraft board, I want to make sure I understand my patchbay before I screw up more gear.

There are two things I can think of that may have caused me to fry my board:

1) Normalling: I have an AP Audio 24 point "Master Patching System." If I have the Mixer out on #1 top, normalled to the MOTU in on #1 bottom, will it break that normalled connection if I patch into #1 bottom ONLY? Or do I have to actually patch out of #1 top -> external processor in -> external processor out -> #1 bottom to break the normalled connection?

What I fear is that by not patching out of #1 top, I may have opened up the mixer direct outs to getting hit by the phantom power somehow. It doesn't make sense to me, but I am a moron when it comes to electronics.

2) Using unbalanced cables: My MOTU is unbalanced, using RCA ins and outs, so the snakes I have for it to run to the patchbay are 1/4" TS cables to RCAs. I sort of figured that if the signal is unbalanced at that point, it didn't make sense to send balanced from the mixer. Would balanced have protected the board more? I'm guessing not, but trying to isolate the cause here.

Any thoughts are welcome.

kayagum
ghost haunting audio students

Re: Patchbay Normalling Question

Post by kayagum » Tue Feb 15, 2005 10:19 am

I think if you searched on "phantom" and "patchbay", that will get you plenty of information.

http://messageboard.tapeop.com/viewtopi ... m+patchbay

For phantom powered preamps, I'm liking the snake/breakout box approach better- that way, there's no way phantom power can affect other channels.

You can also get XLR jacks into a rackpanel if you're not into a stage floor breakout box.
Examples: http://www.sweetwater.com/store/category/c885/