What kind of drum skins are you using?

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
Coco
re-cappin' neve

What kind of drum skins are you using?

Post by Coco » Tue Feb 15, 2005 1:18 pm

I have been playing for about 20 years now and have never really messed around with differnt skins or skin combos. I use a Remo powersroke on kick, fibreskin on the front. For toms I use Evans G2 and Remo Ambassador on the bottoms. For snare it is a Remo Emperor coated with an Evans hazy on the bottom. Maybe there is some kind of magic combo I am missing out on. I am really happy with my drum sound right now but am curious as to what the other drummers on the forum here are using.
I know enough to know that I don't know what I am doing.

Generals and Majors http://www.myspace.com/generalsandmajors

dynomike
carpal tunnel

Re: What kind of drum skins are you using?

Post by dynomike » Tue Feb 15, 2005 2:28 pm

Those sound really standard, in a good way.

I really liked the G2's i used on toms, but I found they wore out a lot faster than the Aquarian Classic Coated's that I use now. Those are 1 ply, but they still have decent focus. Try those if you like...

I've also switched to aquarian kick heads. Having tried the force 1, superkick 1, superkick 2, and vintage whatever head they have, I'd say the superkick 1 is closest to the powerstroke three except perhaps a little heavier and deeper.

More durable too. And did I mention deeper? I really like that head. The force 1 was too slappy, and the superkick 2 was too muffled.

Also, try a fiberskyn on snare batter. I switched to that and love it. Big range, lots of deep tone, not as much high frequency overtones, sounds a lot more consistent with brushes.

None of this will make enormous changes, but its worth a try! Since I already like what you have, hopefully you'd like this too. Maybe like .. French vanilla to plain vanilla.

Mike