help me make big, fat sounding drums with my limitations

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
wing
on a wing and a prayer

help me make big, fat sounding drums with my limitations

Post by wing » Mon Aug 18, 2003 5:21 pm

since my studio has been stripped down (had to sell a lot) it's been hard to do any recording at all. now i have my new analog console (wheatstone 3224) and trying to get my analog 1/2" R2R back up and running well. but until then, I'm using the DAW setup on my computer which is really basic and pretty limited. But I don't care. I want to make music. But as a drummer, I cannot accept weak drums and bass. I cannot have flat kicks and papery sounding snares. I want PUNCH! What I have to record with for now...

- Wheatstone 3224 console
- Shure SM57
- A couple audio technica dynamics
- A few no name dynamic mics
- Sennheiser MD504
- an AKG kick/bass mic i'm too lazy right now to go and get the series number of
- An audio technica cardioid condenser i borrowed from my brother.. forgot the series
- DAW = basic soundcard as well as some old (but still 24-bit) digital recording interface i picked up somewhere
- a little cash to spend on a good versatile mic that is great for drums (suggestions?)

it's not important to me as much as it used to be to have everything sound clean and whatever i used to have concern with. Remember how I used to complain my room is too open and with too many bouncy walls? Apparently that helps me get the sound I want in the end. I guess it's just easy to complain about what you don't have or what is wrong.