Getting Started

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
ryangobie
steve albini likes it

Getting Started

Post by ryangobie » Fri Aug 29, 2003 5:15 pm

hey, i know ya'll prolly get this a lot, but i've been tinkering around with an old tascam portastudio for a few years and with some other stuff i've borrowed along the line. anyway, i basically wanna step it up. i've done some reading and tried to find some reviews on equipment (any links would be appreciated). all in all though, i'm basically starting from scratch. a lot of the mics i use(d) have been destroyed at shows or were just loaned to me.

anyway, i was wondering what gear you guys might suggest on a budget of around 10,000$. thanks!
weeeee

dgochenour
pushin' record

Re: Getting Started

Post by dgochenour » Fri Aug 29, 2003 5:56 pm

The things I could buy with 10K...

Moving from a portastudio to ten thousand dollars worth of gear is a huge, huge step. It should be a really fun one, if you spend wisely.

Now we know what your budget is. How do you plan to use the studio? How must space do you have? Lay out the details, ryangobie.

ryangobie
steve albini likes it

Post by ryangobie » Fri Aug 29, 2003 6:18 pm

it would probably reside on the ground floor, which is a room about 15ft x 23ft. i'd generally use it to record bands who would fall into the hardcore/emo/indie realm of the spectrum. so you're looking at drums, bass, a guitar or two, a vocal track or two and an occasional synth. i'd also use it to lay down my own stuff. i write a lot.
weeeee

Professor
ghost haunting audio students

Post by Professor » Fri Aug 29, 2003 6:52 pm

Stop now...
Run away before it is too late and you can't get out.

Use the 10k as a downpayment on a house or something.

-J

I'm Painting Again
zen recordist

Post by I'm Painting Again » Fri Aug 29, 2003 6:54 pm