what do you call yourself?

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
televator
alignin' 24-trk

what do you call yourself?

Post by televator » Sun May 25, 2003 9:22 pm

i record bands in a studio, and this is how i make my living, but i don't really feel comfortable calling myself an "engineer" or saying i engineered a record because i don't have any type of degree, and i really don't know a lot about frequencies and stuff. i have read a lot about recording, but most of what i know is from experience.

so, if i don't call myself a recording/audio engineer, what do you think would be a more accurate term. i know, this isn't anything terribly important. i'd just like to hear what all of you think. thanks.

tiger vomitt
dead but not forgotten

Re: what do you call yourself?

Post by tiger vomitt » Sun May 25, 2003 10:13 pm

i use a bunch of words to describe what i do.

"engineer" i dint usually feel weird about it as i went to school for it. did i learn any "real" engineering? no, but who's counting...

producer, i actually do this usually

studio person

one that i hate, but sometimes am sorta forced to use: "musician" yech!! composer is pretty bad too because people automatically think white hair and conducting an orchestra (i have a BFA in composition)

i see where yer coming from about the engineer thing, i read here the other day about how geoff emerick (i think it was him) got bitched out by the bigwigs at abbey road for plugging a guitar directly into the board (for "revolution"). he comitted the cardinal sin of "mismatching impedances" :twisted: :lol:

now THOSE dudes were real engineers.. they actually cared about that shit!

assfortress
steve albini likes it

Post by assfortress » Sun May 25, 2003 10:36 pm

Even though the tape op message board doesn't say so, I think I will forever refer to myself as an "ass engineer."

Meriphew
deaf.

Post by Meriphew » Sun May 25, 2003 11:15 pm