Music Theory

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
phantom power
suffering 'studio suck'

Music Theory

Post by phantom power » Tue May 27, 2003 11:52 am

I know this is slightly off topic. Only slightly since I want to learn some theory to help the recordings I work on. Anyway, I was wondering if anyone knows of a good(readable) music theory book? I have been playing guitar for about 12 years and I feel like I probably know alot of this stuff already. I just want to be able to put it it into use in a communicable (if that's a word) way. Any recommendations would be appreciated. Thanks- AE

pandafresh
takin' a dinner break

Re: Music Theory

Post by pandafresh » Tue May 27, 2003 12:05 pm

i have a book called "music theory for idoits"
i think the name says it all. i didnt know any theory before. i have not read the whole book yet. but now i know more. im sure its pretty basic stuff. but it sure is usefull..

-trevor

SpaceCad
gettin' sounds

Post by SpaceCad » Tue May 27, 2003 12:20 pm

I've read several books and would recommend anything written by the National Guitar Workshop and Berklee Press. You can also pick up supplemental theory books that accompany music lessonbooks.

If you are a guitar player the first two might work best for you. Otherwise, I found the piano to be a great tool to use when learning theory because it is all laid out for you - 12 notes in series that repeat.

Also, go to the public library. They are a great resource for this material.

I'm Painting Again
zen recordist

Post by I'm Painting Again » Tue May 27, 2003 12:36 pm

:oneeye:

read ancient greek sources

Rob Christensen
gettin' sounds

Post by Rob Christensen » Tue May 27, 2003 1:01 pm