Bellari RP 503 have audio transformers? Any Good?

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
Locked
User avatar
Derrick
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2003 8:01 am
Location: MD/DC Metro Area

Bellari RP 503 have audio transformers? Any Good?

Post by Derrick » Sat Jan 03, 2004 6:22 pm

Hello, I have the option of picking up a Bellari RP503 for $100. Does anyone know if they have audio transformers in them or is this a transformerless design? Anyone have any experiance with this unit? Is it a waste of money? Thanks so much!
Image Image

Derrick

We have a pool... and a pond. Pond's good for you though.

User avatar
rhythm ranch
mixes from purgatory
Posts: 2793
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: Corrales, NM

Re: Bellari RP 503 have audio transformers? Any Good?

Post by rhythm ranch » Sat Jan 03, 2004 8:29 pm

I haven't used one, so I can't offer an opinion on it's sound, but you can download a .pdf of the manual here. I didn't notice any mention of transformers.

User avatar
wing
on a wing and a prayer
Posts: 5375
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 12:00 pm
Location: brooklyn, ny
Contact:

Re: Bellari RP 503 have audio transformers? Any Good?

Post by wing » Sat Jan 03, 2004 10:42 pm

hmm, i don't know anything about the transformer thing, but i have one, and i like it. good sound, definitely best unit like that that $100 could buy... the compression is a little weak but all in all a great unit and worth even more than $100 to me.

User avatar
Derrick
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2003 8:01 am
Location: MD/DC Metro Area

Re: Bellari RP 503 have audio transformers? Any Good?

Post by Derrick » Sun Jan 04, 2004 7:30 am

Thanks guys. Then for a $100, I'll try it. It will be my first commercial preamp as the first ones that I've had experiance with have been tube preamps that I've built for myself. I figured if it sounded kinda constricted or limeted, I could put better caps in the signal path and better input/output transformers in if it uses them.
Image Image

Derrick

We have a pool... and a pond. Pond's good for you though.

User avatar
prince turbo lung
pushin' record
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 8:32 am
Location: nashville, tn.

Re: Bellari RP 503 have audio transformers? Any Good?

Post by prince turbo lung » Sun Jan 04, 2004 7:45 am

i dont' believe it does. the higher end bellari stuff has transformers. rp220 and the 2 channel comps have them.
its on like donkey kong!!!!

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests